Q and A Destination Guide
Q and A Index
3rd Quarter 00 Questions
2nd Quarter 00 Questions
1st Quarter 00 Questions
3rd Quarter 99 Questions
2nd Quarter 99 Questions
1st Quarter 99 Questions
4th Quarter 98 Questions
3rd Quarter 98 Questions
2nd Quarter 98 Questions
1st Quarter 98 Questions
1997 Questions
Answers Needed Please

Planet Lactose Destination Guide
Return to Home Page
More Info About Each Page
The Milk-Free Bookstore
News from Planet Lactose
LI Basics
Dairy Facts
Your Questions Answered
The Product Clearinghouse
Lactose Research
Fun Stuff
Me and My Books
The Planet Lactose Blog

Q And A Clearinghouse
4th Quarter, 1999

Updated January 15, 2000

This page answers the questions that arrived in the fourth quarter of 1999.

Send your questions to me, Steve Carper, at SteveCarper@CS.com.

Remember, I personally answer all questions that you send me, no matter what. The ones that are of sufficiently general interest get posted here, where I hope they can do the most good.

If you don't spot your question here, be sure to check my Q and A Quick Finder Index.


     


Q. What exactly is the ingredient in dairy products that causes the binding? I read that you feel it is not the lactose.

    You're right about that. It's the protein.

    Take a look at this Constipation and Milk Allergy page on my web site. It's a discussion of a recent medical journal article that makes a connection between a dairy protein allergy and constipation in young children, the first such report to my knowledge. You should then talk to your doctor about it.

    Back to Index


     


Q. What is the lactose content of yogurts containing active cultures?

    This sounds like a straightforward question, but it isn't. Two problems.

    One is that many manufacturers add additional milk solids to the yogurt during the manufacturing process, because true natural yogurt tends to be too thin and sour for American audiences. This makes it impossible to judge lactose content.

    The other problem isn't really a problem, but a boon. The active cultures work to manufacture their own lactase, both during the manufacturing process and even in your intestines. This neutralizes, pretty much, any lactose in the yogurt, even from added milk solids.

    So the amount of actual lactose is more or less irrelevant to the end result, which is that yogurts with live and active cultures are well tolerated by most people with lactose intolerance.

    Back to Index


     


Q. a) How is lactose made - I assume it is a protein in the cows stomach or something? Or is it part of the grass?

b) And is Lactaid a protein or an enzyme?



     


Q. I have heard that some meats can contain lactose (unless they are Kosher) is this true? If so which ones?

    No meat of any kind contains lactose in and of itself. However, some processed meat products (including cold cuts and hot dogs) can have a dairy product as an ingredient.

    The only way to tell is to be sure you always read ingredients lists for anything you buy. And you're right about Kosher meats being dairy-free. They have to be that way. If you can, try to find Kosher cold cuts and hot dogs. Not only are they great tasting, but you can be assured that they don't contain milk.

    Back to Index


     


Q. Does cocoa butter contain lactose like I think it probably does?

    Nope, butter here refers only to consistency. Peanut butter, apple butter, and cocoa butter are all lactose free.

    You might want to check out my Foolers page on my web site.

    Back to Index


     


Q. If LI is the result of not being able to breaking down the compound sugar found in milk and milk products, then would it also be true that anything made with a compound sugar would also be a problem?

    This is a very good question. However, the answer is no, except is a very few people.

    The lactase enzyme that digests lactose is an unusual one. Even in people who can drink milk as adults, it is manufactured in smaller quantities than the enzymes that digest other compound sugars. The reasons probably go back well into human evolution, since lactase only needed to be manufactured early in life when milk was the sole food, while all the others were needed for a wide range of foods all one's life.

    There are some people who have a wide range of sugar intolerances, but overall it is seldom a problem.

    Back to Index


     


Q. Can we humans really do without all dairy products? (I am already a vegetarian). If so, how else can we get enough calcium?

    Yes, humans can get along on just about any diet they want. Vegans, those vegetarians who do without any animal products, can have perfectly adequate diets and can get all the calcium they need from plant sources. You might want to check out my Links for more information.

    That said, very few people except the most militant vegans believe all the horror stories about milk. Most people can and do use milk as part of a healthy diet. The choice is totally yours.

    Back to Index

     





Back to Top