Q and A Destination Guide
Q and A Index
3rd Quarter 00 Questions
2nd Quarter 00 Questions
1st Quarter 00 Questions
4th Quarter 99 Questions
3rd Quarter 99 Questions
1st Quarter 99 Questions
4th Quarter 98 Questions
3rd Quarter 98 Questions
2nd Quarter 98 Questions
1st Quarter 98 Questions
1997 Questions
Answers Needed Please

Planet Lactose Destination Guide
Return to Home Page
More Info About Each Page
The Milk-Free Bookstore
News from Planet Lactose
LI Basics
Dairy Facts
Your Questions Answered
The Product Clearinghouse
Lactose Research
Fun Stuff
Me and My Books
The Planet Lactose Blog

Q And A Clearinghouse
2nd Quarter, 1999

Updated July 2, 1999

This page answers the questions that arrived in the second quarter of 1999.

Send your questions to me, Steve Carper, at SteveCarper@CS.com.

Remember, I personally answer all questions that you send me, no matter what. The ones that are of sufficiently general interest get posted here, where I hope they can do the most good.

If you don't spot your question here, be sure to check my Q and A Quick Finder Index.


Q. a) Is goat milk lactose free?

b) My mom claims to have become lactose intolerant. since a lot of my diet here is milk based, with lots of cheeses naturally, will I be going wrong by substituting goat or sheep cheeses and other milk products in my recipes?

    a) Goat's milk contains almost exactly the same amount of lactose as cow's milk. For a listing of the lactose contents of dozens of different animal milks, go to my Lactose Zoo page.

    b) Goat's milk cheese will have about the same amount of lactose as cow's milk cheese or sheep's milk cheese: very little. All aged cheeses are low in lactose. Substituting one for the other shouldn't make a bit of difference.

    Back to Index


Q. Do you have any information with regard to linking allergies with autism?

    Go to my LI Links page. You'll see that the last link under U.S. is called "Understanding and Implementing a Gluten & Casein Free Diet: An Experimental Intervention For Autism" That should point you in the right direction for info.
    Back to Index


Q. I noticed that I get occasionally get LI symptoms after eating Chinese takeout, especially dishes with thick, starchy sauces. This may be a long shot, but is it possible that they contain lactose?

    My guess is probably not. Usually in cooking, sauces are made thick and starchy by adding corn starch rather than milk powder. I can't guarantee this, of course, and recipes are often adapted to local customs. Some people do have corn allergies, by the way, so it may in fact be the corn that is the problem. (I hate to suggest anything so obvious that you've probably already considered it, but just to be thorough, have you tested yourself on dishes with and without MSG?)

    You might also want to simply ask the next time you're in a restaurant in which you've had problems whether the dish does indeed contain any milk. Most places will be happy to check for you.

    Back to Index


Q. Could LI over a period of time lead to osteoporosis?

    Osteoporosis does not a single cause, although inadequate calcium intake, especially while young, is thought to be a major factor. So LI by itself cannot cause osteoporosis. However, since milk is leading source of calcium, someone who does not drink milk (whether because of LI or not) must ensure a substitute calcium source, either though other calcium-containing foods or by taking calcium supplements. This would be true of anyone, regardless or LI status.
    Back to Index


Q. My mother is severely lactose intolerant, and she recently came across a new one that she hasn't seen before. It's a chocolate bar ingredient: "milk fat." What part of milk is that? Is it suitable or not for an LI person to consume?

    It's the fat that is taken out of milk when lowfat or skim milk is made fat-free. Since fat makes things taste better, milk processers sell off the waste fat to other manufacturers. It should have little or no lactose, however, being pretty close to pure fat.
    Back to Index


Back to Top